Baby Lion

Big 5 Kruger Park

Big 5 Kruger Park. The Big Five is an old hunting term for the following animals: elephant, rhino, buffalo, lion and leopard. You can find more information about these (and other) animals here.

One of the most impressive animals on the planet is certainly the elephant. With its large tusks, huge ears and strong trunk, it impresses everyone. The elephant is the largest and longest-lived land mammal. He is very strong and very intelligent. The African elephant, which is impossible to miss on your safari, is slightly larger than the Asian elephant and has much larger ears.

A sizable African male measures more than 3 meters to the shoulders and weighs more than 5.4 tons. Elephants live in groups of about 10-20, an adult male, a few females and calves. During the day as well as at night they roam around grazing, consuming up to 250 kg per day. An elephant is about 60-70 years old, but it can also be older.

Lions in the Kruger Park

The African lion is mainly active at the end of the afternoon, so you will see them especially during your afternoon game drives. They are territorial animals, which means that they define their habitat. A family group usually consists of 1 to 3 males and 10 to 15 females and baby lions. In this way they can control an area of ​​40 – 400 km2. You wouldn’t say it, but when they hunt their attacks don’t pay off 4 out of 5 times.


The African buffalo is often underestimated. This impressive, mighty animal weighs up to 800 kilograms. Their large, sharp horns and their sometimes aggressive nature, especially when protecting the females, are often downright dangerous. Males sometimes go out alone, but usually you will see a herd of about a hundred animals. Buffalo also demarcate their area, you will usually find them near water, especially in the dry season.

Leopard in the Kruger Park

The leopard is sometimes confused with the cheetah. However, leopards are heavier and have a broader face. Most of the time the leopard lives alone, within a well-defined territory. Only the mating season and the period that the females have young are exceptions to this. Like other representatives of the felines, the leopard marks the boundaries of its territory with urine and provides trees with scratch marks.

Territories of males are larger than females and often intersect those of one or more females. Usually the leopard hunts in the morning and evening twilight. The leopard hunts a wide variety of animal species, from baboons, warthogs and medium-sized antelopes to small mammals and birds.

Kruger National Park Rhino

Nothing beats the Kruger

Kruger National Park

Big 5 Kruger Park

The giraffe is a particularly striking animal with its unusual neck and wonderful physique. Besides his very striking body, his colorful coat is also a characteristic feature. Giraffes live as a family. Such a family consists of one male, with several females. Giraffes usually give birth to one or two young. When a giraffe moves across the African plain, it looks like you are watching a slow motion film, but in reality the speed is very high: about 60 km per hour. Because a giraffe has long legs, it is very difficult for it to drink.

For this reason, it spreads its legs, to make it easier to get to the water with its snout. To eat and drink, he mainly uses his tongue, which can protrude up to 45cm from his mouth. Half an hour of sleep per night is sufficient for the giraffe, it does not need more. Their sleeping position is very similar to that of a bird: they lie down and turn their neck backwards in a curve, allowing the head to rest on the body.

Crocs. Always special

Crocodiles are among the oldest animal species, but have hardly changed in the course of evolution. The 22 recognized species are the largest living reptiles today. They are characterized by their instantly recognizable lizard-like appearance, their skin covering of horny scales and their huge powerful jaws with mean looking strong teeth. These animals live in the warmer regions of the world.

Crocodiles are usually divided into three families: true crocodiles, alligators (including caimans) and the gharial. All crocodiles live near water: a swamp or swampy area, a pool, a lake or a slow-flowing river. Crocodiles usually spend the night in the water and bake on the banks during the day in the sun. During the hottest hours of the day, they lie in the shade or slide back into the water to cool off. You have the best chance of seeing them at that time.


Always an amazing sight. Always something special

Kruger National Park

Big 5 Kruger Park

Antelope is the name given to several bovid ungulates that live mainly in Africa. All antelopes have in common that they are lightly built, elegant animals with small cloven hooves. They can run very fast, and some species are among the fastest land animals. Most species live on the steppes and savannas of Africa, Arabia, Central Asia and India. However, there are also species that live in deserts or dense rainforests.

The bovid family is divided into six subfamilies. Five of these subfamilies contain species that belong to the antelopes. These are the: Cephalophinae (divers), Hippotraginae (grazing antelopes: impala, wildebeest, hartebest, bontebok, oryxes, sable antelope and waterbuck), Antilopinae (real antelope: among others the gazelles, Indian antelope, springbok, geruk, saiga, klipspringer and dikdiks) and Pantholopinae (the Tibetan antelope or chiroe).

Cheetah what an animal

The word cheetah comes from the Hindu word “chita” which means “the spotted”. The most striking thing about the cheetah is the markings that run down its face from the corner of the eye. These lines protect his eyes from the sun, which is useful when hunting. Everything in the cheetah’s body is built for speed. Its body is slender, it has a small head with small ears compared to the rest of its body, and its legs are long with non-retractable claws. This gives the cheetah more grip on the ground in sharp turns and at high speed.

The cheetah has a very flexible spine that allows it to make very big jumps. Usually cheetahs hunt early in the morning or early in the evening. This has to do with the fact that it is often too hot for hunting in the middle of the day. More and more, however, the cheetah is forced to hunt in the heat of the day. This is because competition for prey becomes fiercer due to a decrease in habitat. By hunting in the afternoon, the cheetah hopes to avoid stronger animals such as lion and hyena. Big 5 Kruger Park

Join us for a safari in South Africa ton see the Big 5. learn more. Go Dutch learn more

Share on social media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *